Skydive Australia

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 15.42.45
Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 15.43.08Call me a weirdo, but I’ve always wanted to jump out of a plane.

It’s one of those experiences that you can never even attempt to imagine what it will feel like until you’re up there.

Don’t get me wrong, I was shitting myself.

I was a tiny bit nervous when I actually booked the skydive (the day before), I was a little more nervous when I got to the office the next morning – but excited kind of nervous, and then it wasn’t until my feet were hanging over the edge of the plane with the door open that I thought WHAT AM I DOING?!

I did quite a lot of research and reading before deciding where, when and who I did my skydive with – as I’m sure we all would.

Ultimately my decision was made based on:

  1. Cost – skydiving is quite expensive, and as a backpacker at the time I needed to spend my pennies wisely. Skydive Australia were offering 15,000ft (an extra 1,000), a free top and a free night at Scotty’s hostel if booked through them. No brainer really!and
  2. Location – Unlike all the other locations where I was travelling in Oz, Mission Beach was the only place that you can land on the beach. I couldn’t resist that – the view and experience just sounded perfect from the beginning to the end. A beach over a field every time!
    Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 17.32.42

The diving crew were great, especially as they don’t leave any more than 2 seconds from the time your legs are dangling out the plane and the time your whole body’s falling through the air.

It took me some time to figure out what was actually going on at first. I felt like I was in a washing machine; spinning and swirling through the air, with some massive fan blowing in my face.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 17.33.36
Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 17.34.01

The first thing I screamed was F- – – , and then just AHH a lot.

The guy who was strapped to my back knew exactly what he was doing – thank god – and I’m hoping he didn’t hear me shouting but I doubt he’ll still be thinking about it like I am!

The skydiving team do up to 11 jumps a day. I mean that’s a lot isn’t it?! So, I think unless you do something incredible like wee yourself at 15,000ft (FYI that didn’t happen to me) then I doubt they’ll remember you. Phew!

The free fall felt like it was going on for a lot longer than it actually was. Spinning, falling and flying – a scary but incredible feeling.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 17.37.07

Then when the parachute opened everything felt calm, and obviously I was massively relieved!

I did make a bit of a fool out of myself again – verbal diarrhea, talking complete and utter nonsense. Something along the lines of ‘Ah now I know why you do this. I didn’t understand it so much up there, but down here it’s beautiful!’

The clouds were still below us, and there was the most incredible rainbow halo. I’m not sure that’s the correct term, but basically it was like a dart board of colours.

Falling through the clouds got a little chilly. I should mention that when I did my skydive I didn’t have to wear a full body suit thing. I was just in my shorts and cami top.

The view was unreal, and the adrenaline rush was a nice buzz too! Well, it was until I crashed in the afternoon and slept most of the day away.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 17.38.33Everyone who does a skydive at Mission Beach gets vouchers for the café – extra bonus – so I filled up on a bacon roll and left feeling like I really got my money’s worth. So, thumbs up all round!

I decided to get some images done of the dive, a little pricey, but a great memory. The skydive instructors all had a camera on their wrists and took video of the whole experience. Then you can decide if you want an edited video or images taken from the video etc. all with different costs.

The photos are hilarious! I don’t know anyone who looks good falling through the air, but I know one person who definitely doesn’t…. ahem I mean me.

Want proof?

Great, prepare for a giggle and enjoy…

Leave a Reply

