Try a Tea Time Tasting

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 18.33.56
I was thinking the other day about how often through our lives we stick with our safety zones.

We know what we like and what we don’t like, and we begin to set ourselves boundaries. I do it. I know that if I’m ever eating out I tend to order the same things – especially if it’s a curry or Chinese take-out, because I know I like them.

Why risk trying something new that I might not enjoy?

So, with the hope of learning new things and trying ‘old’ things that I might now enjoy, I set up a taste night dinner. An evening where we all tried something new, re-tried things we have previously turned our noses up at and taste tested the same food from different stores.

On this occasion – and mainly down to cost – we purchased everything from Aldi, exception of the corn-on-the-cob, which we also purchased from Tesco for a taste off. The total cost of our taste night was around £50. That does include a few extra things too – mainly chocolate really.


The taste night was shared with a family I call ‘The Lambs’. Family friends and always up for a bit of fun and a challenge – the children were so excited once I’d brought it up and I was amazed at how much they were willing to try!

I came up with a few rules for the night, just for lol’s really.
1. We all try everything at least once
2. Everyone has a blind tasting – decided by another person
3. Get to the loo if you’re going to spew

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 18.05.47
Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 18.06.53
I added in my own individual shopping lists naming all the foods that we would be tasting, with a column to tick (if you like it) or cross (if you didn’t). That worked really well! Also a great way to keep track of what you’ve not had a nibble on.

For an added bit of table fun – you can’t have too much fun! – I put all our names on folded pieces of paper and who ever we picked out (excluding ourselves – obviously) we would choose something for them to try blindfolded.

The blindfold test requires some trust, or strong gag reflex sounds a bit like… because you could well end up getting corned beef (the equivalent of dog food) shoved into your mouth. It happened, luckily not to me!

It’s also really funny to watch the blind tastings – so I’ve been a gem and taken some videos of the night, which will be available on Youtube soon. (Keep an eye on my social media accounts for the link).

We managed to get enough stuff to make a meal out of it and more for a pudding round – the best round!

It’s actually quite hard to think of things you haven’t tried before – there has to be tons that I’ve never tried yet, but I couldn’t tell you what they are for the life of me!

Because we had such a good time, we’re going to make it an ongoing thing, so expect a Tea Time Tasting Two! Unlike films, the prequel wont be worse. Coming to a screen near you…..eventually.

I’d love to hear if you do something similar- drop me a comment or message me with what new things you’re trying, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

