Leaving work

As of Friday the 5th of August I became unemployed. The word alone sends fear and panic running from my head to my toes and back again. It’s that little bit of sick feeling that sits in your throat making you regret every decision you’ve ever made.

It took me a long time to decide to leave work, and not one I took lightly. In fact I put it back about 2 or 3 times and moved from July to the end of August (with owed holiday time included) before I finally made the jump.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve not found being at home difficult in the slightest, but that alone worries me slightly. It’s far too easy to be a bum!

Once leaving work it was with the plan to travel. I had already saved, planned, paid and began packing for my new adventure and with that in mind I didn’t really need to panic about work for a while.

I travelled for 5 months around SE Asia and Australia and then before I knew it I was back home, sitting at the breakfast bar thinking what now?

Seriously. What now?!

I’ve always known what I’ve wanted to do in life, writing, but that’s not a very easy industry to break in to (magazines and journalism). I decided to use my ‘free’ time that I had to find and do internships at magazines and a few other possible areas of work that might interest me. I’ll be honest, finding work experience/internships has been far more difficult than I would have thought.

I was under the assumption that if you had enough enthusiasm and want for something then it would shine through, and someone would eventually give me a chance. I’m on the fence with that thought now. I fear it’s one of those need experience in order to get experience things, and unfortunately unless someone miraculously gives me a chance then… well.. I’m stuffed.

I’ve been home a month now – not very long but my god it feels it. I really don’t want to buckle and end up getting a job I have no interest in, but does there come a point where you just have to?

I have general fear that soon my brain will just shrivel up and die from lack of stimulation.

I guess my overall question is, when do you give up searching for the career you want and get a job you need?

 

Leave a Reply

